A + B = C: Art + Brent = Culture, the Brent 2020 Education Programme, will help schoolchildren and teachers get involved in the cultural programme for the year and encourage creativity in schools across the borough. Led by a group of 46 educators, the scheme aims to connect schools in Brent to the events and activities taking place as part of Brent's year as London Borough of Culture.

A New Direction, a non-profit organisation that supports young people’s creativity and engagement with the arts across London, are working intensively in the borough, collaborating with the Brent 2020 team on a range of creative and cultural education opportunities.

The Education Programme will link learning with creativity, bringing Brent schools and settings a range of ways to engage with the arts close to home and across the capital, connecting the cultural sector with educators. This year will be full of chances to learn, take part and find ways of working together to make things happen! Download the Education Resources below.

During 2020 we hope schools and settings in the borough will be involved in Brent’s year as London Borough of Culture. If you would like to connect your school to the programme or register your interest please contact

For more information about Brent's schools and education settings, click here


During 2019, Brent educators worked together to develop education resources enabling students to engage with Brent 2020. It contains creative activities designed to help educators connect children and young people with their local area, their heritage and their hopes for the future.

Please download and share!

Download Info Pack.
Download Education Resources.


Download the Making a Star Activity Pack

Download the Remember This House Colouring Book


Our ambition is to have every school and education setting in the borough engaged with Brent 2020, London Borough of Culture and A New Direction are inviting every school to nominate their Cultural Champions.

Brent 2020 Cultural Champions will be invited to training, events and to connect with the Cultural Leads in their local hub school. This will ensure they stay up-to-date with opportunities and that Brent 2020 reaches every child and young person in the borough.


With thanks to Education Programme Cultural Leads:

Alicia Marco-Agullo, Willow Children’s Centre
Ami Mehta, Bluebell Nursery
Andria Zafirakou, Alperton Community School
Andy Ward, Preston Manor School
Ania McKinson, Brentfield Primary School
Anna Mulry, Princess Frederica C of E Primary School
Bethany Gatrell, Granville Plus Nursery School
Carmel Bernie-Francis, Newman Catholic College
Chiu-Kim Lee, Capital City Academy
Chloe Villegas, College Green School & Services
Daniel Clancy, John Keble C of E Primary School
Deepa Vekaria, Woodfield School
Deirdre O'Flanagan, The Village School
Eileen Wilson, Learning Tree Montessori Nursery School
Ellie Burgess, Convent of Jesus and Mary Language College
Gemma Carter, Harlesden Primary School
Gemma Lewis, Brent River College
Gerda Palinda, Oliver Goldsmith Primary School
Gidea Heaton, Barham Primary School
Helen Kolawole, Preston Park Primary School
Jane Noy, Mitchell Brook Primary School
Jenna Pickering, Wembley Primary School
Jenny Cooper, The Village School
Johnny McCourt, St Joseph's Catholic Primary School
Julius Metson Scott, Byron Court Primary School
Keisha Evans, London Road Nursery
Keir Crawley, Preston Manor School
Leslie-Ann Orlans, St Mary's C of E Primary School Brent
Lynne Whiteread, Salusbury Primary School
Marcel Rentall, Harlesden Primary School
Margaret O'Connor, Manor School
Maria Demetriou, The Mount Stewart Schools
Maureen Anthony, Chalkhill Primary School
Nawal Filali, College Green School & Services
Nicola Cummings, Queen’s Park Community School
Nicole Reid, Curzon Crescent Children's Centre
Philippa Saving, Newfield Primary School
Rebecca Heath, Malorees Junior & Infant School
Sabrina John-Lewis, Preston Park Primary School
Sadie Windsor-Richards, Kingsbury Green Primary School
Shabiha Sayed, Elsley Primary School
Simon Barr, Wembley Primary School
Simon Pile, Anson Primary School
Sophie Peterken, Barham Primary School
Sujata Nehru, The Pavilion Nursery
Thomas Evans, Islamia Primary School
Toyin Oriade, The Stonebridge School
Umah Sathyarooban, Chalkhill Primary School
Vanessa Grey, St Robert Southwell Catholic Primary School
Wendy Kelly, Jelli Tots Nursery
Yvonne J. D’Souza, Roe Green Infant School
Zoe McLaren, The Mount Stewart Schools

With thanks to the members of the Education Programme Engagement Board who are guiding the project:

Alice Edwards - A New Direction
Amanda Epe - Community Advisor
Catherine Allard - School representative
Corinne Micallef - A New Direction
Danny Coyle - School representative
Dhiyandra Natalegawa – Community Advisor
Errol Donald - Mindspray
Kier Crawley - School representative
Komaxi Quessou - Blueprint Collective
Marion Joseph - School representative
Samira Abubakar - Blueprint Collective
Wendy Kelly - School representative
Zeinab Abubakar - Blueprint Collective